Canadian alt-metal/hard rock crossover SUMO CYCO recently announced the highly anticipated release of their upcoming full-length album, Initiation, which drops May 7, 2021 via Napalm Records. Interlaced with infectious heavy metal grooves, pop-perfected hooks, electronic undertones and a dose of punk flavor, Initiation breaks all the rules while delivering a cohesive yet purely unbridled sonic adventure.

SUMO CYCO’s explosive first single/video, ‘Bystander, burst with attention upon it’s release in mid-February, garnering over 100,000 YouTube views in just four days! Now, the multi-faceted musical powerhouse has returned with another single – the chaotic, sauntering ‘No Surrender. Packing a punch with pop star-turned-rock frontwoman Skye ‘Sever’ Sweetnam’s dynamic vocal delivery and an impassioned, riffy chorus.

“’No Surrender‘ is about the struggle to be your authentic self, living your truth and battling inner demons. The music video depicts four characterized versions of myself representing different sides of my personality and how I see myself. They’re lurking in the darkness over my shoulder, always questioning each other’s decisions.

The song is written from the perspective of the voice or voices in my head. Telling me to run one moment and another to hold my ground and another to fight back. In between some epic rocking out with the band, I wanted the viewers to visualize the colorful juxtaposition that goes on in my mind.” Comments Skye ‘Sever’ Sweetnam.

Skye ‘Sever’ Sweetnam  – Continues….
The album’s title, Initiation, stems from wanting to invite the audience to be ‘initiated’ into our world. There are usually two congruent themes to each of our albums – one is real-world inspiration, and the other is ‘Cyco City’, a comic book-esque alternate universe where all our music videos take place. With Initiation, we introduce four gangs or clubs. Our music videos for Initiation all include a theme of these clubs – whether it’s gang vs. gang, a forbidden love between opposing sides, or the idea of having to choose where you belong.

Outside of the story, the lyrics relate to the polarization of the world we live in now. We all have a longing to belong, but what makes one feel accepted or ostracized from a group? To be INITIATED, would you be willing to try to understand another point of view? I have always written lyrics about internal struggle, the war within oneself. Throughout the album, we bounce back and forth between struggle and overcoming. It reflects the times, and there are moments that seem a bit dark.” 

‘Initiation’ Tacklisting:
1) Love You Wrong
2) Bystander
3) Vertigo
4) Bad News
5) No Surrender
6) M.I.A.
7) Cyclone
8) Run with the Giants
9) Overdrive
10) Power & Control
11) This Dance Is Doomed
12) Awakened (not available on standard digital version)

Initiation will be available in the following formats:
– Digital Album
– CD Digipak
– CD Digipak + Shirt
– LP Gatefold Orange Vinyl
– Die Hard Limited Edition: LP Gatefold Purple/Yellow/Pink Inkspot Vinyl + 7” Orange Transparent Vinyl Single w/ Two Bonus Tracks + Signed Photo (Napalm Mailorder only – limited to 300 worldwide)

Die Hard Limited Edition: LP Gatefold Purple/Yellow/Pink Inkspot Vinyl Plus 7” Orange Transparent Vinyl Single w/ Two Bonus Tracks Plus Signed Photo (Napalm Mail-order only – limited to 300 worldwide)

Pre-order HERE


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This